Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The cautious traveller's guide to the Wastelands / Sarah Brooks.

Summary:
"For fans of Piranesi and The Midnight Library, a stunning historical fantasy novel set on a grand express train, about a group of passengers on a dangerous journey across a magical landscape. It is said there is a price that every passenger must pay. A price beyond the cost of a ticket. There is only one way to travel across the Wastelands: on the Trans-Siberian Express, a train as famous for its luxury as for its danger. The train is never short of passengers, eager to catch sight of Wastelands creatures more miraculous and terrifying than anything they could imagine. But on the train's last journey, something went horribly wrong, though no one seems to remember what exactly happened. Not even Zhang Weiwei, who has spent her life onboard and thought she knew all of the train's secrets. Now, the train is about to embark again, with a new set of passengers. Among them are Marya Petrovna, a grieving woman with a borrowed name; Henry Grey, a disgraced naturalist looking for redemption; and Elena, a beguiling stowaway with a powerful connection to the Wastelands itself. Weiwei knows she should report Elena, but she can't help but be drawn to her. As the girls begin a forbidden friendship, there are warning signs that the rules of the Wastelands are changing, and the train might once again be imperiled. Can the passengers trust each other, as the wildness outside threatens to consume them all?"-- Provided by publisher.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250878618
  • ISBN: 1250878616
  • Physical Description: ix, 316 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm.
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Flatiron Books, 2024.
Subject: Passenger trains > Fiction.
Animals, Mythical > Fiction.
Imaginary places > Fiction.
Genre: Fantasy fiction.
Magic realist fiction.
Railroad fiction.
Historical fiction.
Novels.

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Lehigh Carbon Library Cooperative. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Palmerton Area Library.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Palmerton Area Library New Fic F B79 (Text) 65000000083552 Adult Fiction Available -


Additional Resources